8 Counties. 1 Region.

The Region

The Southern Tier 8 Region is consists of 8 unique counties in rural Upstate New York: Broome, Tioga, Tompkins, Otsego, Cortland, Delaware, Schoharie, and Chenango. And across 8 counties, we encourage collaboration as one region.

Our 8 counties offer so many unique experiences for growth, business expansion, entrepreneurism, and overall a great work/life quality. The vast beauty and natural resources provide a healthy, active, and peaceful lifestyle.

Our Counties

All of our 8 counties are unique in many aspects offering the an array of lifestyles, career and work opportunities, culture, and more.

Downtown / Urban Areas

Our region has exceptional small towns and cities full of quaint restaurant, entrepreneurial minds, amazing real estate, a great work/life balance, and lots of opportunity.


The Southern Tier 8 region has been the home for strong industries such as Healthcare, Advanced Manufacturing, Education, and Engineering to name a few. Our workforce is tried and tested, loyal, and hard-working. And we have many industries on the rise such as Agriculture, Smart Energy, and Communications.

Industry Clusters Graphic

Population Data